Catholic School CompassTrue north for Catholic families.
Aerial view of St. Joseph Central Catholic High School
Aerial imagery: U.S. Geological Survey (public domain). USGS

Catholic high school

St. Joseph Central Catholic High School

  • LocationFremont, OH
  • Type and sizeParish school · Grades PK–12 · 451 students

St. Joseph Central Catholic High School in Fremont, Ohio, is the grades 9-12 high school on the St. Joseph Central Catholic Campus of Bishop Hoffman Catholic School. Its 2026-27 course book requires four years of religion, including a Catholic social teaching course in grade 12. The school says students attend Mass weekly as a school, on Fridays at 8:00 a.m., and that monthly adoration is expected. Every student must attend a yearly retreat, and 40 service hours are required for graduation.

Mass, confession, and adoration

Confirm with the parish

Mass 1

  • Friday8:00 AMNot stated on the pages reviewed · School Mass for the SJCC Campus; times may be adjusted for Holy Days and special events. The 2026-27 handbook.

Times come only from official parish, chaplaincy, or school pages, and can change with the season. Last verified Oct. 13, 2026.

Sources for these times (1)
  1. SJCC Campus Parent & Student Handbook 2026-2027bishop-hoffman.net/_files/ugd/fa57f8_f82f8d21e19a467fb61ccea7e2904e70.pdf · verified Oct. 13, 2026
    “School Mass attendance is also part of our Catholic culture. Mass for the SJCC Campus is on Fridays at 8:00a.m.”
    School Mass for the SJCC Campus is held on Fridays at 8:00 a.m.

Catholic churches nearby

Map of St. Joseph Central Catholic High School, its Catholic center and nearby Catholic churches0.25 mi0.5 mi1 miSaint Joseph Catholic Church: 0.1 mi1Saint Ann Catholic Church: 0.3 mi2First Church of God: 0.8 mi3Saint Casimir Catholic Church: 1.1 mi4Sacred Heart Catholic Church: 1.5 mi5Faith Formation & Discipleship, St. Joseph Central Catholic Campus: 0.0 miSt. Joseph Central Catholic High School (campus)N0.5 mi
CampusCatholic centerCatholic church (numbered below)Open a street map ›
  1. Saint Joseph Catholic Church — 0.1 mi
  2. Saint Ann Catholic Church — 0.3 mi · 1021 West State Street, Fremont
  3. First Church of God — 0.8 mi
  4. Saint Casimir Catholic Church — 1.1 mi
  5. Sacred Heart Catholic Church — 1.5 mi

Within 3 miles, as mapped by OpenStreetMap contributors. The map may be incomplete. Confirm with the parish or diocese.

Faith scorecard

Each line is one thing we looked for. A check means yes, a half means partly, a dash means no. “Not enough information” means official sources did not say.

BSacramental life: Good (grade B): 70 to 100 points out of 100 on what official sources document. Grades need sources for at least 60% of the checklist.

Sacramental life

85 of 100 points on what we could document.

  • Yes: Yes: the school meets this item and earns its full points.
    All-school or class Masses during the school yearWeekly (The handbook says Mass for the SJCC Campus is on Fridays at 8:00 a.m. and that school Mass is part of the Catholic culture. The prospective students page says students attend Mass weekly as a school.)
    Sources (2)
    1. Prospective Students | Bishop Hoffman Catholic Schoolbishop-hoffman.net/prospective-students · verified Oct. 13, 2026
      “Students attend Mass weekly as a school, partake in the sacraments (if Catholic) and pray daily.”
      Students attend Mass weekly as a school and pray daily.
    2. SJCC Campus Parent & Student Handbook 2026-2027bishop-hoffman.net/_files/ugd/fa57f8_f82f8d21e19a467fb61ccea7e2904e70.pdf · verified Oct. 13, 2026
      “School Mass attendance is also part of our Catholic culture. Mass for the SJCC Campus is on Fridays at 8:00a.m.”
      School Mass for the SJCC Campus is held on Fridays at 8:00 a.m.
  • Not enough information: Not enough information: official sources do not document this, so it is left out of the grade rather than counted as a no.
    Daily Mass available to students on campusNot enough information: not found in official sources.
  • Not enough information: Not enough information: official sources do not document this, so it is left out of the grade rather than counted as a no.
    Confession offered to students during the school yearNot enough information: not found in official sources.
  • Yes: Yes: the school meets this item and earns its full points.
    Eucharistic adoration offeredRegularly (monthly or more) (The handbook lists monthly adoration among the prayer experiences students are expected to attend.)
    Sources (1)
    1. SJCC Campus Parent & Student Handbook 2026-2027bishop-hoffman.net/_files/ugd/fa57f8_f82f8d21e19a467fb61ccea7e2904e70.pdf · verified Oct. 13, 2026
      “Examples of these include but are not limited to monthly Adoration, Holy Days of Obligation, Stations of the Cross, meaningful service activities, and other similar Catholic faith-building experiences such as retreats.”
      Students are expected to attend monthly Adoration among other Catholic prayer experiences.
  • Partly: Partly: the school meets some of this item and earns part of the points.
    Priest chaplain serving the schoolVisiting or shared priest (School Mass is confirmed. A priest is listed on the faculty as an educator.)
    Sources (1)
    1. SJCC Campus Parent & Student Handbook 2026-2027bishop-hoffman.net/_files/ugd/fa57f8_f82f8d21e19a467fb61ccea7e2904e70.pdf · verified Oct. 13, 2026
      “School Mass attendance is also part of our Catholic culture. Mass for the SJCC Campus is on Fridays at 8:00a.m.”
      School Mass for the SJCC Campus is held on Fridays at 8:00 a.m.
ATheology and curriculum: Strong (grade A): 85 to 100 points out of 100 on what official sources document. Grades need sources for at least 60% of the checklist.

Theology and curriculum

100 of 100 points on what we could document.

  • Yes: Yes: the school meets this item and earns its full points.
    Years of theology or religion requiredFour years (Each of Religion 1 through 4 is a one-credit year course, required in grades 9, 10, 11 and 12. Four full-year courses; religion is taken in every high school grade.)
    Sources (1)
    1. St. Joseph Central Catholic High School 2026-2027 Curriculum Guide & Course Selection Handbook2bedf6d4-1aeb-45d6-ab73-e4fd94b9a16f.filesusr.com/ugd/a60405_c8b47da4db4a46448f7ceee0737b9675.pdf · verified Oct. 13, 2026
      “RELIGION 1 Faith and Revelation: An Introduction to Scripture/Who Is Christ? Year 1 credit Grade 9 Required”
      Religion 1 is a one-credit year course required in grade 9.
      “The Mission Of Christ/ Christ and the Church Year 1 credit Grade 10 Required”
      Religion 2 is a one-credit year course required in grade 10.
      “Christ and the Sacraments/Moral Living in Christ Year 1 credit Grade 11 Required”
      Religion 3 is a one-credit year course required in grade 11.
      “The Call of Christ: On Christian Vocation/Catholic Social Teaching Year 1 credit Grade 12 Required”
      Religion 4 is a one-credit year course required in grade 12 and covers Catholic social teaching.
  • Not enough information: Not enough information: official sources do not document this, so it is left out of the grade rather than counted as a no.
    Theology courses follow the USCCB Curriculum FrameworkNot enough information: not found in official sources.
  • Not enough information: Not enough information: official sources do not document this, so it is left out of the grade rather than counted as a no.
    Philosophy, apologetics, or ethics course offeredNot enough information: not found in official sources.
  • Yes: Yes: the school meets this item and earns its full points.
    Faith integrated across the curriculum (stated in the program of studies or mission)Yes (The school says it focuses on integrating the Catholic faith with challenging academics.)
    Sources (1)
    1. About BHCS | Bishop Hoffman Catholic Schoolbishop-hoffman.net/about-bhcs · verified Oct. 13, 2026
      “Our school focuses on integrating the Catholic faith with challenging academics.”
      The school focuses on integrating the Catholic faith with academics.
ACampus culture: Strong (grade A): 85 to 100 points out of 100 on what official sources document. Grades need sources for at least 60% of the checklist.

Campus culture

88 of 100 points on what we could document.

  • Yes: Yes: the school meets this item and earns its full points.
    RetreatsA retreat for every grade (Every student is required to attend a yearly retreat, and a student is denied graduation without a retreat each year enrolled.)
    Sources (1)
    1. SJCC Campus Parent & Student Handbook 2026-2027bishop-hoffman.net/_files/ugd/fa57f8_f82f8d21e19a467fb61ccea7e2904e70.pdf · verified Oct. 13, 2026
      “Every student is required to attend a yearly retreat.”
      Every student is required to attend a yearly retreat.
  • Partly: Partly: the school meets some of this item and earns part of the points.
    Campus ministry staffOne (One faith formation director is listed on the staff page. A priest is listed on the faculty; not as campus ministry staff.)
    Sources (1)
    1. 6-12 Faculty/Staff | Bishop Hoffman Catholic Schoolbishop-hoffman.net/new-faculty · verified Oct. 13, 2026
      “Mrs. Evelyn Clark Director of Faith Formation & Discipleship eclark@bishop-hoffman.net”
      Evelyn Clark is listed as Director of Faith Formation & Discipleship, with a school email address.
  • Not enough information: Not enough information: official sources do not document this, so it is left out of the grade rather than counted as a no.
    Faith-based student groups or clubsNot enough information: not found in official sources.
  • Yes: Yes: the school meets this item and earns its full points.
    Daily prayer and liturgical life built into the school dayYes (Students attend Mass weekly as a school and pray daily, according to the prospective students page.)
    Sources (1)
    1. Prospective Students | Bishop Hoffman Catholic Schoolbishop-hoffman.net/prospective-students · verified Oct. 13, 2026
      “Students attend Mass weekly as a school, partake in the sacraments (if Catholic) and pray daily.”
      Students attend Mass weekly as a school and pray daily.
AService and Catholic social teaching: Strong (grade A): 85 to 100 points out of 100 on what official sources document. Grades need sources for at least 60% of the checklist.

Service and Catholic social teaching

100 of 100 points on what we could document.

  • Yes: Yes: the school meets this item and earns its full points.
    Required service hours40 or more hours over four years (The handbook says the total service hours required for graduation at the high school equal 40 hours.)
    Sources (1)
    1. SJCC Campus Parent & Student Handbook 2026-2027bishop-hoffman.net/_files/ugd/fa57f8_f82f8d21e19a467fb61ccea7e2904e70.pdf · verified Oct. 13, 2026
      “At the high school, the total number of service hours required for graduation equals 40 hours.”
      The high school requires 40 service hours for graduation.
  • Yes: Yes: the school meets this item and earns its full points.
    Catholic social teaching taught in theology coursesYes (Religion 4 is a required grade 12 course titled The Call of Christ: On Christian Vocation/Catholic Social Teaching.)
    Sources (1)
    1. St. Joseph Central Catholic High School 2026-2027 Curriculum Guide & Course Selection Handbook2bedf6d4-1aeb-45d6-ab73-e4fd94b9a16f.filesusr.com/ugd/a60405_c8b47da4db4a46448f7ceee0737b9675.pdf · verified Oct. 13, 2026
      “The Call of Christ: On Christian Vocation/Catholic Social Teaching Year 1 credit Grade 12 Required”
      Religion 4 is a one-credit year course required in grade 12 and covers Catholic social teaching.
  • Not enough information: Not enough information: official sources do not document this, so it is left out of the grade rather than counted as a no.
    Pro-life engagement (club, March for Life, or similar)Not enough information: not found in official sources.
  • Not enough information: Not enough information: official sources do not document this, so it is left out of the grade rather than counted as a no.
    Justice and solidarity programs (immersions, service trips, justice clubs)Not enough information: not found in official sources.

Grades come from the documented indicators under the published rubric. “Not enough information” does not mean the school lacks it.

Strengths

  • Students attend Mass weekly as a school, on Fridays at 8:00 a.m.
    Sources (2)
    1. Prospective Students | Bishop Hoffman Catholic Schoolbishop-hoffman.net/prospective-students · verified Oct. 13, 2026
      “Students attend Mass weekly as a school, partake in the sacraments (if Catholic) and pray daily.”
      Students attend Mass weekly as a school and pray daily.
    2. SJCC Campus Parent & Student Handbook 2026-2027bishop-hoffman.net/_files/ugd/fa57f8_f82f8d21e19a467fb61ccea7e2904e70.pdf · verified Oct. 13, 2026
      “School Mass attendance is also part of our Catholic culture. Mass for the SJCC Campus is on Fridays at 8:00a.m.”
      School Mass for the SJCC Campus is held on Fridays at 8:00 a.m.
  • Religion is required in each of grades 9 through 12, and the grade 12 course covers Catholic social teaching.
    Sources (1)
    1. St. Joseph Central Catholic High School 2026-2027 Curriculum Guide & Course Selection Handbook2bedf6d4-1aeb-45d6-ab73-e4fd94b9a16f.filesusr.com/ugd/a60405_c8b47da4db4a46448f7ceee0737b9675.pdf · verified Oct. 13, 2026
      “RELIGION 1 Faith and Revelation: An Introduction to Scripture/Who Is Christ? Year 1 credit Grade 9 Required”
      Religion 1 is a one-credit year course required in grade 9.
      “The Call of Christ: On Christian Vocation/Catholic Social Teaching Year 1 credit Grade 12 Required”
      Religion 4 is a one-credit year course required in grade 12 and covers Catholic social teaching.
  • Every student must attend a yearly retreat, and 40 service hours are required for graduation.
    Sources (1)
    1. SJCC Campus Parent & Student Handbook 2026-2027bishop-hoffman.net/_files/ugd/fa57f8_f82f8d21e19a467fb61ccea7e2904e70.pdf · verified Oct. 13, 2026
      “Every student is required to attend a yearly retreat.”
      Every student is required to attend a yearly retreat.
      “At the high school, the total number of service hours required for graduation equals 40 hours.”
      The high school requires 40 service hours for graduation.

Concerns

  • The handbook says students receive First Reconciliation through their home parish.
    Sources (1)
    1. SJCC Campus Parent & Student Handbook 2026-2027bishop-hoffman.net/_files/ugd/fa57f8_f82f8d21e19a467fb61ccea7e2904e70.pdf · verified Oct. 13, 2026
      “All BHCS students who will be receiving Sacraments, i.e., Baptism, First Reconciliation, First Communion, and Confirmation, must do so with their home parish.”
      Students receive First Reconciliation through their home parish.
  • No philosophy, apologetics or ethics course appears among the religious studies offerings in the 2026-27 course book.
    Sources (1)
    1. St. Joseph Central Catholic High School 2026-2027 Curriculum Guide & Course Selection Handbook2bedf6d4-1aeb-45d6-ab73-e4fd94b9a16f.filesusr.com/ugd/a60405_c8b47da4db4a46448f7ceee0737b9675.pdf · verified Oct. 13, 2026
      “RELIGION 1 Faith and Revelation: An Introduction to Scripture/Who Is Christ? Year 1 credit Grade 9 Required”
      Religion 1 is a one-credit year course required in grade 9.

Know something we missed? Suggest a correction.

Campus ministry home

Faith Formation & Discipleship, St. Joseph Central Catholic Campus

  • Address: 702 Croghan Street, Fremont, Ohio 43420
  • Location: On campus

View on map ↗

Source: bishop-hoffman.net, verified Oct. 13, 2026

Catholic clubs and student life

5 groups and regular activities · 0 on campus, 0 off campus, 5 location not published

Liturgy and prayer 2

  • Friday school Mass
    Fridays at 8:00 a.m.
    School Mass for the SJCC Campus. Families are encouraged to attend with students. Students are expected to attend their parish on Sundays as well.
  • Monthly adoration
    Monthly
    Students are expected to attend monthly adoration among other Catholic prayer experiences.

Retreats 2

  • Yearly student retreat
    Each school year; required for graduation
    Religious retreats are a core component of the school; every student is required to attend a yearly retreat.
  • Advent and Lenten retreats
    Advent and Lent
    Special retreats during the liturgical seasons of Advent and Lent.

Service 1

Everything listed is published by the school, its campus ministry, or the parish. Ask the campus minister what’s happening this semester.

Campus ministry

Sources (2)
  1. 6-12 Faculty/Staff | Bishop Hoffman Catholic Schoolbishop-hoffman.net/new-faculty · verified Oct. 13, 2026
    “Mrs. Evelyn Clark Director of Faith Formation & Discipleship eclark@bishop-hoffman.net”
    Evelyn Clark is listed as Director of Faith Formation & Discipleship, with a school email address.
  2. SJCC Campus Parent & Student Handbook 2026-2027bishop-hoffman.net/_files/ugd/fa57f8_f82f8d21e19a467fb61ccea7e2904e70.pdf · verified Oct. 13, 2026
    “702 Croghan Street”
    The St. Joseph Central Catholic campus is at 702 Croghan Street, Fremont, Ohio 43420.

Reach out

Contact details for Mrs. Evelyn Clark (Director of Faith Formation & Discipleship) and 3 official social and news channels are available to signed-in users.

Sign in Create a free account

We keep campus ministers’ emails behind sign-in to protect them from spam.

My rating and notes

Sign in or create a free account to rate this school privately, keep notes, and save it to your list.

Academic Excellence

FAcademic Excellence: Minimal (grade F): 0 to 100 points out of 100 on what official sources document. Grades need sources for at least 60% of the checklist.
13 of 100
From federal data, on fixed published scales.

Each measure counts for the share shown.

  • Graduates going to four-year colleges 75% of scoreThis measure counts for 75% of the Academic Excellence score.41%
  • Students per teacher 25% of scoreThis measure counts for 25% of the Academic Excellence score.13.6 to 1

Bars show points on each measure’s scale. How Academic Excellence is computed. Federal data on private high schools is limited to these two measures.

Source: NCES Private School Survey (2023–24 school year)

School facts

TypeParish school
DioceseCatholic Diocese of Toledo, OH
GradesPK–12
Students (all grades)451
Students in grades 9–12105
Coed or single-sexCoed
Student–teacher ratio13.6 to 1
Graduates going to 4-year colleges41%
SettingTown

Source: NCES Private School Survey 23-24 public-use file (school year 2023–24). The college-going rate and student–teacher ratio feed Academic Excellence; nothing here changes the faith grades.

Local Church

Catholic Diocese of Toledo

The Most Reverend Daniel E. Thomas, Bishop of Toledo

Formal address: “Your Excellency”

Source: toledodiocese.org, verified Oct. 7, 2026.

About this school’s data

Questions families ask

Is St. Joseph Central Catholic High School a Catholic high school?
Yes. St. Joseph Central Catholic High School is a Catholic high school in the Catholic Diocese of Toledo.
What is St. Joseph Central Catholic High School’s Compass Score?
73 out of 100 (grade A). It combines faith (75%) and academics (25%), each rated from official sources.
Where is Mass celebrated at St. Joseph Central Catholic High School?
Mass is listed at Not stated on the pages reviewed. Days and times are on this page; please confirm with the parish or campus ministry before you go.

Reviews

Personal experiences from signed-in readers. Reviews are moderated automatically and never change a school’s grades.

No reviews yet.

Sign in to write a review.

More in Ohio · Ohio rankings